Skip to content

Review: Maybelline’s The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara

March 4, 2012

I have been loyal to Maybelline in terms of their mascaras. I’m pretty sure they have
garnered a good reputation for their high quality mascaras in a drugstore price. I saw this Maybelline Falsies mascara on one of Blair aka Juicystar07 makeup tutorial and I love how it gives her like a false lashes in a tube. I knew I had to get one but unfortunately it’s not locally available in Maybelline counters. Although sometime last December I was able to score one in a local Watson store and I instantly bought without even testing the product [they don’t even have testers btw since the saleslady said it was fresh stock]. I totally forgot the price but I got it in Watsons Mall of Asia, 2nd branch right next to theatres. You can also score one but in some selected Watson or Maybelline counters. I think you can also get Falsies at the local Duty Free.



According to Maybelline, it’s patented spoon brush fans out lashes from corner to corner, while the Pro-Keratin formula instantly builds volume without clumping. The unique flexible wand helps to lift and separate lashes to provide the look of 300% more visible, fuller lashes, no gaps from any angle. Contact lens safe and ophthalmologist-tested and waterproof, also available in washable formula.

PROS:

  • I absolutely love the magenta packaging! It’s attention-grabbing and can be easily spotted in my makeup stash. One of the reasons why I bought this. 🙂
  • The wand is great for separating the lashes.
  • I only need one coat for this mascara. Since I have a generous length of lashes, 2 applications looks like a fake lashes on me.
  • Didn’t had any irritation whatsoever even if I wear contact lenses.
  • Surprisingly, it’s easy to remove using a eye makeup remover.

CONS:

  • Too much product on the brush. I had to remove excess product at the tip of the lid.
  • I find it a bit tricky to apply the mascara using the brush. It maybe a little messy if you’re first time to try it. I had spider lash when I did it the first time. 😛
  • May clump and flake if it’s too much application.
  • Doesn’t give me the volume that I wanted. I prefer the Colossal or Magnum.
  • A bit wet when you apply it, also it takes time to dry.
  • For a waterproof mascara, it smudge my undereyes at the end of the day. [I have oily lids btw.]
  • Only available in selected Maybelline counters. Again I bought mine in Watsons MOA near the theatres, not the one right next to National Bookstore.

BEFORE

As you can see in the photo above, I have pretty decent length of lashes. I only use my Shu Uemura curler to hold the lash in place. 🙂


AFTER ONE COAT OF APPLICATION

AFTER 2 COATS OF APPLICATION

If you look at the photo above, the eyelashes looks a bit clumpy already and fake. I did use a eye separation brush thingamajig after the application and it still looks like that. I also did apply a bit of mascara on my lower lashes [but only 1 application].

VERDICT: It’s not too bad. Since I have a decent lashes already, 1 application is enough for me, if I put too much it’ll look like a put a fake eyelashes [but hey I think that’s the purpose of this mascara anyway.] If you’re a type of person who wasn’t gifted with a lash which I think most Asian women are I’d recommend this as it gives you length and volume at the same time. I still love my Maybelline Magnum since it gives the volume that I wanted but I sometimes use this in case I felt like having ginormous lashes. :> If you’re lucky you can get their flared version as well, but only available in US. Not sure if we have one locally here.

Disclaimer: Product is purchased using my own money. I am not paid to make this review nor affiliated with Maybelline.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 12:19 am

    I do it the other way around, I transfer some of the mascara on the lash comb and apply the mascara via the lash comb/separator thing.

    Whatever I do kasi, I get clumpy lashes. Not with this method though.

    • March 5, 2012 11:38 am

      Oh I haven’t tried that method yet, I think alot of people I know use spoolie but I’ll definitely try it one of this days. I don’t get clumps with any other mascara, with this I only have to apply 1 application to make it look natural on me.

  2. August 22, 2012 10:27 am

    I find your blog really cute =)

    anyway, please join my post-birthday giveaway dear! I hope you’ll be one of the three winners! This is open to tumblr and blogspot users: http://raellarina.blogspot.com/2012/08/post-birthday-giveaway-raellarina-x.html =)

Leave a Reply

